2016 Predictions

This year has been rife with changes for me; not least that I have stuck at doing several new things and actually succeeded at them.

For next year, there are a number of things I would like to predict will happen, in my life and in others’.

The first prediction is that I will get my son into swimming lessons (at last). He loves the water, always has, and is a wee terror if he doesn’t get the energy release from swimming of a weekend. It makes things interesting when we occasionally have family to visit, as he gets Very Excited when people are in the house (besides his parents, of course; we may as well be furniture).

The second prediction is that we will *not* go on our first family holiday. We’re kind of sort of trying to arrange one, but when my other half goes ‘I should just do this’ historically it hasn’t taken place.

The third prediction is that I will not publish a novel next year. It’s always something to aim for, but realistically I’m not there yet. NaNoWriMo this year helped, but I have a long way to go to 1,000,000 words. Especially with my sparse writing style.

The fourth prediction is that my job will give me at least as much stress as this year, if not considerably more. The promise of a payrise can’t compare to the hassle it’s going to bring as I am pushed into talking to *shudder* people. It’s mostly customers who garner that reaction in me; suppliers are easier to talk to for some reason.

The fifth prediction is that another change will come about in writing and publishing. I don’t know what it is, but the market is ripe for a change to loosen Amazon’s grip on the ebook market, and I fully expect to see it next year. Not that I have anything against Amazon; I just generally like to see people competing for my custom.

What are your predictions? Do you foresee a revolution in the way people read? A family Incident? The overturning of laws like VAT on ebooks? Let me know…

We’ll come back to this at the end of 2016 to see how realistic these predictions were, and hopefully it’ll turn out that some of them were true and others false (especially the stressy work one).

 

Leave a Reply

