NaNoWriMo and Other Things

I have officially won my first ever NaNoWriMo! Yay!

I also discovered yesterday, quite by accident, that there was a site which had exactly what I need to motivate myself beyond 50k: 4thewords.com. They were sponsoring NaNo and I clicked through… and discovered the exact right thing for me.

I got 2k out on this new thing yesterday – battling monsters with word counts in a set time frame, and points for hitting 444 words per day, and streaks to maintain… it’s brilliant!

That, unfortunately, was the only writing I got done yesterday. My gnat-like attention span has decided I’ve finished Steel Fist for now, but I know (logically, as opposed to practically) that I still have a fair bit to write. My plan, such as it is, involves taking a weekend day and writing the scenes on my list until I hit 200k, then leaving the whole thing alone for seven or eight months.

In that gap, I can be writing other things using this overview-to-scene planning method, such as The Mob Accountant, Quirky Vampire Girl (working title), or even one of the numerous romances stored in my head.

I have a feeling new year’s resolutions for 2016 will include ‘write one whole effing story’.

Leave a Reply

