NaNoWriMo Day 11 – Word Count

I’m now at 46k. That’s right, almost at the finish line!

I’m currently torn between pride that I could write so much in such a short space of time and raging disappointment at the realisation that I don’t have enough story to make it to a more standard fantasy word count.

In fairness, I realised a couple of days ago that I needed to add more subplot and setting, and there’s always that description spree I keep threatening to do, but I reckon at best all those measures will only net me around 50k – in other words, still well short of the 200k mark for the ‘average’ fantasy novel.

In the unlikely event that I create a craze for shorter fantasy, I will celebrate, but as this is merely my first attempt at a full novel draft, let’s assume I don’t do that.

Right, enough procrastinating (though there may be some time for procrastiknitting before midnight); I need to write just under 4k!

Leave a Reply

